News Release

2023 Mar 28
AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited

AEON STORES RECORDS REBOUND IN 2022 REVENUE TO HK$9.57 BILLION INCREASES PENETRATION RATE OF PROPRIETARY BRANDS AND CONTINUES TO PROMOTE DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION

(HONG KONG, 28 March 2023) – AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited (“AEON Stores” or the “Group”; Stock code: 984) has announced today its annual results for the year ended 31 December 2022. During the year under review, owing to the resurgence of COVID-19 coupled with the unstable geopolitical landscape, fluctuating energy prices and supply chain disruptions, various countries experienced significant slowdown in their growth. In the past year, the Group’s operations in Hong Kong and Mainland China (the “PRC”) continued to be affected. To cope with the situation, the Group timely and flexibly adjusted its business strategies and actively responded to the changes and challenges in the macro environment.

In the year 2022, the Group recorded a revenue of HK$9,571.3 million (2021: HK$9,554.9 million), increasing 0.2% year-on-year. Gross profit margin was 29.5% (2021: 28.9%). Loss attributable to owners of the Company for the year decreased to HK$219.9 million (2021: loss of HK$470.0 million). The Group maintained a strong cash position with cash and bank balances and short-term deposits amounting to HK$1,423.4 million (2021: HK$1,833.6 million).

The Board has recommended payment of a final dividend of HK2.0 cents (2021: HK2.0 cents) per share. Together with the interim dividend, the Group will pay a total dividend of HK5.0 cents (2021: HK5.0 cents) per share in 2022.

Mr. Takenori Nagashima, Managing Director of AEON Stores, said, “In 2022, the pandemic remained rampant across the globe, with COVID-19 variants driving infection cases significantly upwards. Business suspensions and shortened business hours had a jarring effect on the Group’s business and affected our overall sales performance. Despite of this, sales of proprietary brand merchandise improved substantially compared with last year, and there is room for further improvement. The online retail segment also maintained stable growth in the past year. In addition, the new AEON STYLE Yau Tong and the first KOMEDA'S Coffee in Hong Kong have received overwhelming response since their opening. With such encouraging business performance, we will strive to establish a strategic position in the changing business environment and seize opportunities arising from the ‘New Normal’.”

During the year, its staff cost decreased by 0.1% and its ratio to revenue maintained at 11.5% (2021: 11.5%). Other operating expenses, including advertising, promotion and selling expenses, maintenance and repair expenses, utility expenses and other expenses, increased by 1.1% year-on-year and the ratio of other expenses to revenue was 11.7% (2021: 11.6%).

Hong Kong Operations

The Group has overcome a difficult year in the 2022 with the outbreak of fifth wave of Covid-19 pandemic but has seized the business opportunity of the distribution of consumption voucher from the Government. In January 2022, the outbreak of the fifth wave of the pandemic hit the recovering economy and the retail sector remained weak. Consequently, the Group’s sales performance in the first quarter was affected. In the second quarter of 2022, fueled by a new round of Consumption Voucher Scheme introduced by the government and the relatively stable pandemic condition, the Group's sales performance was slightly improved. Its sales performance in the month, when the second round of the consumption voucher was issued by the government, was also better than that in other months. In the second half of the year, the external environment worsened. The stock markets slipped and the major central banks raised increased interest rates sharply. Under the pressure of global inflation, the interest rate on Hong Kong dollar denominated borrowings rose. Given the tightened financial conditions, no significant improvement was seen in the citizens' consumption sentiment. However, sales performance was stabilized in those months in the second half year when the government issued the other rounds of consumption voucher.

Facing the increase of merchandise costs pressure, the Group continued to increase the proportion of its proprietary brand products, such as TOPVALU and HomeCoordy to improve its gross margins.

After the opening of AEON STYLE in Mong Kok in 2021, the Group opened the fourth AEON STYLE store in Hong Kong in Domain, Yau Tong in February 2022, delivering higher quality, more convenient and more pleasant shopping experience to the customers in neighboring areas. To consolidate and optimize its resource allocation, the Group closed its Lam Tin Store in March.

As for the small specialty store business, the Group continued to advance its strategic cooperation with Daiso Japan (Daiso Industries Co., Ltd.) (“DAISO”) and expanded the network of such stores. In June, DAISO’s flagship store was opened in Mong Kok and it introduced Threeppy, a new brand adopting the theme "Happy Life Begins with 300 Yen", for the first time. With the existing foundation of DAISO, the store offers more products directly imported from Japan and more diverse product categories to satisfy the daily needs of different customers.

To expedite the development of AEON Hong Kong’s specialty restaurant chain business, the Group entered into a regional franchise agreement in May 2022 with KOMEDA Co., Ltd, a well-known coffee shop chain, which originated from Nagoya, Japan, with the aim of operating business of "KOMEDA’S Coffee" in Hong Kong. The first “KOMEDA'S Coffee" in Hong Kong was opened at AEON STYLE Whampoa Store in October, offering customers "the most relaxing place" and a brand-new Japanese dining experience.

Revenue from Hong Kong operations for the year increased by 1.5% to HK$4,585.3 million (2021: HK$4,516.2 million). Segment results changed from loss of HK$184.1 million last year to loss of HK$124.2 million this year, mainly due to improvement in revenue via the Group’s actions in adjusting the merchandise mix, optimizing the stores network, strengthening marketing and promotion, accelerating the progress of digitization to optimize the system and streamline the process, etc.

PRC Operations

During the reporting period, there were mass COVID-19 outbreaks in the PRC, with confirmed cases in Guangdong Province and Shenzhen. To comply and follow respective pandemic prevention measures imposed by local governments, the Group had to temporarily shut down some of its stores and shorten business hours during the year, resulting in a reduction in overall customer flow and causing certain impact on its business. Revenue of the PRC business for the year dropped 1.0% year-on-year to HK$4,986.0 million (2021: HK$5,038.7 million), with a loss of HK$117.5 million (2021: loss of HK$265.0 million).

During the year, the Group continued to review the performance of its stores and closed the underperforming stores to lighten its financial burden. In addition, the Group executed its previously set store opening plan and inaugurated a new supermarket in Guangzhou in December.

Prospects

In response to the continuous development of the market and technology, rapid changes in customer spending habits and fierce competition in the retail and department store industry, the Group has kept abreast of the times and adjusts its business strategies in due course. In the future, the Group will implement three major development strategies to improve operational performance: 1) conduct merchandise reform; 2) accelerate digital transformation; and 3) optimize physical stores. In addition to increasing product categories and achieving product differentiation based on customer preferences, the Group will also increase the penetration rate of its proprietary brands to increase revenue and profitability. In terms of online marketing, the Group will improve efficiency of delivery and enhance the functions of AEON App to strengthen the efficiency of retail operations by making full use of online platforms. Physical stores will also be upgraded to provide customers with a more comfortable shopping experience. Besides, the Group will conduct diversified online and offline promotions to attract more new and existing customers, improve performance and enhance the overall competitiveness of the Group.

In Hong Kong, in addition to further expanding DAISO’s network of small specialty store, the Group will also explore more strategic cooperation opportunities with other well-known Japanese brands and provide diversified, superior merchandise with good value-for-money to articulate its “high quality, diversity and uniqueness” positioning. The Group also plans to open more KOMEDA'S Coffee stores in 2023 to gradually expand its catering business. In the post-pandemic era, the Group will continue to advance its digital transformation, such as improving operational efficiency and controlling costs through the adoption of “Mobile Assistant”, as well as introduce self-serve cash registers and automated background cash processing machines and expand the application scope of the AEON App. Such actions will help the Group bring together online and offline strengths and maximize benefits.

Regarding the PRC operations, as the Chinese government actively reopens its borders, the Group believes economic activities in the country will gradually return to normal and the sentiment in the retail market will also pick up progressively. The Group will continue to review its store mix and make appropriate arrangements. In addition, the Group will explore more expansion opportunities based on market development.

Mr. Takenori Nagashima concluded, “To address continuous market developments and technological advancements, rapid changes in customer spending habits, and fierce competition in the retail and department store segments, we have kept abreast of the times and adjusted our business strategies in a timely manner. In addition, we have formulated three major strategies to improve our business performance, including implementing product reform, accelerating digital transformation, and developing new physical stores while revitalizing existing stores, with our primary focus on increasing the number of points of sale for developed merchandise with higher profit margins. We have also launched direct sales programs in the PRC and Hong Kong to reduce our reliance on consignment products while increasing sales of products from our own supply chain. In terms of digital transformation, we plan to implement various product promotions to encourage customers to use the ‘AEON App’ and increase the proportion of online and delivered orders by enhancing the core functions of the App. We have officially launched the AEON App in Hong Kong in November 2022, which we will continue to optimize and improve, and is set to facilitate the growth of our online supermarket business in the region. By upholding our ‘Customer First’ philosophy and ‘everything we do, we do for our customers’ service principle, we will strive to provide the best services to our customers and enhance both online and offline shopping experiences to become the retailer of choice for customers in the region.”

> Back to the directory

About AEON Stores
AEON Stores was established in Hong Kong in 1985 and listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in 1994. The Group is mainly engaged in the operation of general retail businesses (General Merchandise Stores and Independent Supermarkets). Currently, it operates 10 GMS, 2 independent supermarkets, 30 independent Living PLAZA by AEON, 32 independent Daiso Japan, 1 independent Bento Express by AEON and 4 Mono Mono and 4 KOMEDA'S Coffee in densely populated districts in Hong Kong. It also operates 21 GMS and 15 independent supermarkets in Guangdong Province, the PRC.

For more information:
AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited
Corporate Communication Department
Tel.:(852)2165 0777
Email:aeonpr@aeonstores.com.hk

page top

新聞公佈

2023年03月28日
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司

永旺百貨二零二二年重拾升軌 收益達港幣95.7億元 加強自家品牌滲透率 持續推進數碼化轉型

(2023年3月28日,香港訊)- 永旺香港)百貨有限公司(「永旺百貨」或「集團」)(股份編號:984)今天公佈截至2022年12月31日止年度全年業績。於回顧年內,隨著2019冠狀病毒病(「COVID-19」)疫情持續爆發,疊加地緣政治局勢不穩、能源價格波動以及供應鏈中斷等問題,各國增長動力顯著放緩,集團的香港及中國內地(「中國」)業務於過去一年亦難免繼續受影響。幸而集團適時靈活調整經營戰略,積極應對宏觀環境的種種變化與挑戰。

於2022年,集團全年收益同比上升0.2%,至港幣95億7千130萬元(2021年:95億5千490萬元),毛利率為29.5%(2021年:28.9%)。年內本公司控股股東權益應佔虧損減少至港幣2億1千990萬元(2021年:虧損港幣4億7千萬元)。集團的現金及銀行結存以及短期定期存款達港幣14億2千340萬元(2021年:18億3千360萬元),財務狀況維持穩健。

董事會建議派發期末股息每股2.0港仙(2021年:2.0港仙)。連同中期股息,2022年的每股派息總額為5.0港仙(2021年:5.0港仙)。

永旺百貨董事總經理長島武德先生表示:「於2022年,COVID-19繼續肆虐全球,變種病毒的感染個案飆升。暫停營業或縮短營業時間對集團業務造成尤為嚴重的打擊,繼而影響了集團的整體銷售表現。儘管如此,集團自家品牌的商品銷售額較去年大有改進,且仍有進一步提升的空間,而線上零售部分則於過去一年繼續保持穩定增長。此外,年內新開設的油塘AEON STYLE 商店以及香港首間KOMEDA’S Coffee 自開業以來反應熱烈。我們務求在瞬息萬變的營商環境中建立策略定位,並把握『新常態』帶來的任何機遇。」

年內,員工成本減少0.1%,佔收益百分比維持於11.5%(2021年:11.5%)。其他營運費用,包括廣告、促銷和銷售費用、維護和修理費用、公用事業費用、行政費用及其他費用等成本按年上升1.1%,佔收益百分比為11.7%(2021年:11.6%)。

香港業務

隨著第五波COVID-19疫情的爆發,集團在2022年度過了艱難的一年,但亦同時抓住了政府發放消費券所帶來的商機。於2022年1月,第五波疫情的爆發為逐漸復甦的經濟帶來打擊,零售行業持續疲弱,集團第一季度之銷售表現亦因此受影響。2022年第二季度,在新一輪政府消費券計劃推出及疫情環境相對穩定的幫助下,銷售表現錄得輕微改善;而發放第二輪政府消費券時的當月銷售表現亦較其他月份理想。於下半年,外圍環境惡化、股票市場下滑以及主要央行大幅加息,在全球通脹壓力下,港元借貸利率上升,金融狀況收緊,市民消費意欲未有明顯改善。而在下半年政府發放其他幾輪消費券的幾個月裡,集團的銷售表現趨於穩定。

面對商品成本增加的壓力,集團繼續增加自家品牌產品的比例,例如TOPVALU和HomeCoordy,以提高其毛利率。

  • 2021年於旺角開設AEON STYLE後,集團於2022年2月在油塘大本型開設了全港第四間AEON STYLE,為鄰近地區的顧客提供更優質、更便利與更開心的購物體驗。為整合及優化其資源配置,集團於3月關閉了藍田店。

集團小型專賣店業務方面,集團繼續推進與日本大創産業(「Daiso Industries Co., Ltd」)(「DAISO」)的戰略合作,擴展小型專賣店的網絡。6月,集團於旺角開設了DAISO 旗艦店,並首次引入全新品牌 Threeppy,期以「300日元開始的快樂生活」為主題,於DAISO 原有的基礎上,涵蓋更多日本直送商品,品類更豐富,滿足不同顧客的日常生活需要。

為加快AEON香港在餐飲連鎖專門店業態方面的發展,集團於2022年5月與起源自日本名古屋的知名咖啡連鎖店KOMEDA Co.,Ltd訂立區域特許經營協定,旨在於香港開設KOMEDA'S Coffee,並於10月選址AEON STYLE黃埔店開設全港首間店舖,為顧客提供「放鬆的最佳場所」及嶄新的日本餐飲體驗。

年內,集團的香港業務錄得收益增加1.5%至港幣4,585.3百萬元(2021年:港幣4,516.2百萬元)。分部業績由去年錄得虧損港幣184.1百萬元跌至本年的虧損港幣124.2百萬元,主要由於集團透過調整產品結構、優化店鋪網絡、強化市場宣傳推廣、加速數碼化進度以優化系統、簡化流程等策略,提升收益所致。

中國業務

疫情在中國內地多處爆發,當中廣東省及深圳均有確診個案。為配合地方政府的防疫措施,集團於年內實行階段性閉店和縮短營業時間,導致整體客流量的減少,業務受到一定程度的干擾。中國業務全年收益下降1.0%至港幣4,986.0百萬元(2021年:港幣5,038.7百萬元)。年內中國業務錄得虧損港幣117.5百萬元(2021年:虧損港幣265.0百萬元)。

集團繼續審查店鋪組合的表現,關閉表現不佳之店鋪,以減低集團的財務負責擔。此外,集團落實早前的開店計劃,於12月在廣州開設1間超市。

展望

為應對市場及科技的不斷進步發展、顧客消費習慣快速變化及零售百貨行業競爭激烈,集團一直與時並進,適時調整業務策略。未來,集團將實行三大發展策略以改善營運表現── 一)進行商品改革、二)推加速數碼化轉型以及三)優化實體門店。除了按照顧客喜好而增加商品種類及實現商品差異化外,集團亦會加強自家品牌的滲透率,以提高收入及利潤能力;於線上營銷方面,集團將提高配送效率及增加 AEON App 的功能,充分利用線上平台為零售增效;線下的門店亦會進行改造升級,為顧客提供更舒適的購物體驗。另一方面,集團將於線上及線下推廣多元化的促銷活動以吸引更多新舊顧客,以改善業績,提升集團整體競爭力。

香港業務方面,除了進一步擴大 DAISO 的小型專賣店的網路外,集團將探索與其他日本知名品牌的更多戰略合作機會,以「高質量、多樣性與獨特性」為定位,提供多樣化、性價比高的優質商品。另外,集團預期於2023年開設多間 KOMEDA'S Coffee,逐步拓展餐飲業務。於後疫情時代,集團將繼續推進數碼化轉型,如透過「Mobile Assistant」提升營運效率及控制成本;引入具有新功能的自助收銀機及自動化後台現金處理機, 以及擴大AEON App 的應用範圍,藉此實行線上線下優勢互補,將利益最大化。

中國業務方面,隨著中國政府積極推動重新開放,相信經濟活動將逐漸回覆常態、零售市道氣氛正逐步好轉。集團將繼續審視旗下店舖組合並作出適當部署,以提高營運效率。另外,集團將按市場發展探索更多擴張機遇。

長島武德先生總結:「為應對市場及科技的不斷進步發展、顧客消費習慣快速變化及零售百貨行業競爭激烈,集團一直與時並進,適時調整業務策略。展望未來,集團已制定提升業務表現的三項主要策略,分別為推行產品改革、升級數碼化轉型、開發新店舖以及振興現有店舖,而首要重點是增加利潤率較高的成熟商品的銷售點。我們在中國內地及香港業務推行直銷計劃,旨在減少對寄售產品的依賴和提高自有供應鏈產品的銷售。數碼化轉型方面,我們計劃通過推行各種產品促銷以吸引客戶使用「AEON App」應用程式,並通過提升其核心功能以增加線上訂單的比重。「AEON App」已於2022年11月在香港正式推出,將繼續優化和完善,我們期望該應用程式未來將促進在區內的線上超級市場業務的增長。我們貫徹『顧客至上』的理念及『一切為了顧客』的服務理念,期望為顧客提供最優質的服務,提升線上線下的購物體驗,成為區內所有顧客的首選零售商。」

> 回到目錄

關於永旺百貨
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司成立於1985年,並於1994年在香港聯合交易所上市,其主要業務為經營綜合購物百貨店(GMS)。目前永旺百貨於香港人口密集的地區開設10間綜合購物百貨店(GMS)、2間獨立超級市場、35間獨立Living PLAZA by AEON、30間獨立Daiso Japan、1間獨立Bento Express by AEON及4間ものもの及3間KOMEDA'S Coffee,並於廣東省開設21間GMS及15間獨立超級市場。

傳媒垂詢:
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司
企業傳訊部
電話:(852)2165 0777
電郵:aeonpr@aeonstores.com.hk

page top